Kyle Hamilton wins Consensus All-American honors


Notre Dame Junior Security Kyle hamilton is the latest Fighting Irish player to win Consensus All-American honors.

Hamilton, Cincinnati cornerback Ahmad Gardner, Oregon Security Verona McKinley III and Baylor security Jalen Pitre were the four defensive backs to win Consensus All-American honors this season.

Obviously, Hamilton’s reputation carried a lot of weight during the All-American selections. The junior won multiple All-American honors last season (2020) and is expected to be one of the top picks in the 2022 NFL Draft, but Hamilton has only played six full games this season after suffering an injury. in the first quarter of Noter Dame’s 31-16 win. on USC, the team’s seventh game of the season.

Hamilton has certainly made an impact in the games he’s played, registering 34 tackles, four assists and three steals while only playing half the season.

According to the NCAA, the All-Americans by consensus are chosen from a point system among the various All-American teams. Players must be selected to the first team out of at least half of the five official coaches recognized by the NCAA. The second and third team selections are used to break ties.

Hamilton was named to the All-American First Team by the American Football Coaches Association, the Football Writers Association of America, and the Walter Camp Football Foundation. He won the second All-American team by the Associated Press.

Last season, Notre Dame’s offensive tackle Liam Eichenberg was named by All-American consensus as linebacker Jérémie Owusu-Koramoah was unanimously named All-American.

The last Notre Dame defensive back to win Consensus All-American honors was Julien love, who got it in 2018.

Here’s a list of Notre Dame’s consensus and unanimous All-Americans over the past 10 seasons:

2021 Kyle hamilton, Security
2020 Jérémie Owusu-Koramoah, linebacker (unanimously)
2020 Liam Eichenberg, Offensive tackle
2018 Julien love, corner half
2017 Quenton Nelson, Offensive Guard (unanimously)
2017 Mike McGlinchey, Offensive tackle
2015 Jaylon smith, linebacker
2015 Ronnie stanley, Offensive tackle
2012 Manti te’o, linebacker (unanimously)

Be sure to check out the Irish Breakdown bulletin board, Champions Lounge

Content of the Irish breakdown

The alignment of Notre-Dame 2021
Notre Dame 2021 Schedule

Notre Dame 2022 commits Big Board: Offense
Notre Dame 2022 commits Big Board: Defense

Notre Dame scholarship offers 2022

Large Notre Dame 2022 class board
Large Notre Dame 2023 class board


Become a premium member of Irish Breakdown, which gives you access to all of our premium content and our premium bulletin board! Click on the link below to find out more.


Make sure you stay locked in Irish Breakdown all the time!

Join the Irish Breakdown community!
Subscribe to the Irish Breakdown YouTube channel
Subscribe to the Irish Breakdown podcast on iTunes
Follow me on Twitter: @ CoachD178
Like and follow Irish Breakdown on Facebook

Sign up for the FREE daily Irish Breakdown newsletter


Comments are closed.