Impressive list of 16 nominations for April’s Fethard Sports Award


No fewer than 16 nominations were received for this month’s Butler’s Bar Fethard Sports Achievement Award with a range of sports among the nominees.

The winner will be announced next Friday evening.

1/ Jack Quinlan. Currently playing a leading role for Tipperary Minor Pitchers in their quest for Munster and All Ireland glory.

2/ Dorothee Mur. No stranger to these awards, Dorothy is a member of the Irelan women’s rugby team who are currently competing in the Six Nations tournament.

3/Ryan Walsh. Represented Fethard with honor in the Tipperary u/20 football team.

4/ Conor Kavanagh. Chosen as a scrum-half in the Munster rugby team for the Junior Interprovincial series.

5/Mia Lacey/Mary Kate Fogarty. Representing St Ritas Comogie Club, these two young ladies were part of the winning team of the u/13 Interdivisional Shield.

6/ Lauren Connolly. Also representing St Ritas, this young lady played for the Cumann Na Mbunscoil team which played at half time in the Tipp V Waterford SH game.

7/ Gavin Neville. Has the distinction of being selected by Tipperary at u/15 level for hurling and football.

8/ Charlie Walsh/Ben Allen/Rory O Mahoney/Noah Flynn. Signs of Fethard’s return to glory days with these young men all chosen by Tipperary for their u/15 team.

9/ Sarah Moore/ Evie Smith/ Emily Spillane/ Sarah Smith. County panellists for Tipperary Women’s u/16 football set.

10/ Jake Coen. This young apprentice jockey started his career well, already accumulating 16 victories including a fine double at Dundalk in April.

11/ Liam KielyMark Neville. As already mentioned, the future is bright for Fethard football. Liam and Mark have been selected by Tipperarys u/16 management as part of the 2022 squad.

12/ Nicole Delaney. Soccer player Nicole quickly forged a reputation as a great player with the Wexford Youths u/17s.

13/ Ben Coen. 2022 has seen Bens’ career go from strength to strength. The highlights of April were victory in Lincolnshire aboard ‘Raadobarg’, followed 3 days later by a hat-trick at Limerick Racecourse.

14/ Bernard Feery. Completed a hat-trick in County Veterans Athletics with 1st in the 800mts. 400 meters and 3000 meters.

15/ Joseph Gaule. Played for the Tipperary Cumann na mBunscoil side who showed his skills at half time in the Tipp V Waterford SH game.

16/Keith Woodlock/Philip Butler. Winners of the prestigious Mouse Morris Cup Golf Tournament played at Slievenamon Golf Course.

The April winner will be announced next Friday evening, May 6, at Butlers.


Comments are closed.