Celtic news and sport team up for four awards tonight


John Joe O’Reilly and Michael Hughes watching the binder in action on John Joe’s farm near Cootehill in August 2021. Photo by Alex Coleman, who was nominated for Best Picture.

Celt have been nominated and shortlisted for four major awards at the Local Ireland Awards, which will be announced later in the evening.

Sportswriter Paul Fitzpatrick was nominated in two separate categories, Sports Journalist of the Year and Columnist of the Year for his Cavanman’s Diary series.

Celt is also one of four nominees in the Best News Series category for “Eden’s Legacy.” This story delves into the tragic death of Eden Heaslip and her family’s work to bring bullying to light and call for action to tackle the long-standing problem.

Photographer Alex Coleman was nominated for Best Photographer for “Threshing it out”.

Celtic editor Linda O’Reilly is delighted with the nominations.

“Celt has been shortlisted in all news, sports, photography and colour/opinion categories for Cavanman’s Diary column. It’s a brilliant reflection of the quality that exists throughout the newspaper in all sections and the brilliant journalists and photographers behind our stories and content.

“It’s wonderful to get this recognition and it will be the icing on the cake to win one of the awards tonight. Thank you to our readers and advertisers for their continued support.”

The prestigious awards, sponsored by the National Lottery, celebrate excellence in local journalism and the regional news publishing industry.

The three columns for which Paul Fitzpatrick was shortlisted in the Columnist of the Year category are as follows:

Staying Safe During Lockdown, 2031

Trust is the key to the future of media

Lift more than just a cup

The three articles for which Paul was shortlisted in the Sports Journalist of the Year category are:

“You have the ability to put a smile on people’s faces, to make people proud”

Cavan must adapt to playing without the driving force of the team

Back to earth for Cavan

Local Ireland Chairman Declan McGuire said: “We are delighted at had over 600 registrations this year, which is a record.

“This reflects the enormous popularity of the awards and the intense competition to secure a nomination.

“We are grateful to the National Lottery for their continued support and I would like to thank all of our judges for the time they spent reviewing so many entries.”

National Lottery CEO Andrew Algeo said: “We at the National Lottery are so proud of our longstanding partnership with the Local Ireland Media Awards and we are particularly looking forward to this year’s in-person event, which will allow us to celebrate the impact local media have on the communities they serve. »

The awards jury is chaired by entrepreneur and animator Áine Kerr. She is joined by author and broadcaster Dearbhail McDonald, Professor Emeritus at TUD Michael Foley, Dawn Wheatley from the DCU School of Communications, Managing Director of Kinetic Ireland Andrew Sinclair, Photographer and former Irish Times Editor Frank Miller, Broadcaster and writer Valerie Cox, and journalist and author PJ Cunningham.

This year’s awards will take place at the Bloomfield House Hotel, Mullingar tonight (Thursday) 13th October. The guest emcee will be famed sportscaster Marty Morrissey.


Comments are closed.