A memorable weekend for Na Piarsaigh

Adrian Breen whose goals were decisive in Na Piarsaigh County’s final victory.

It was a weekend to remember for Na Piarsaigh as the City flag bearers won the Hurling Senior and Limerick Premier Intermediate Football Championships.

As a result, the club will join Adare and Monaleen as senior club doubles in 2023.

First in the enclosure of the winners, at the Pairc naGael of Askeaton, the footballers overthrew Dromcollogher / Broadford (2-8 to 2-6). Team captain Dylan Cronin excelled with 1-5.

24 hours later, Na Piarsaigh emerged victorious, 3-23 to 2-15, against holders Kilmallock in the showpiece of hurling at the TUS Gaelic Grounds. Two top-notch goals from a razor-sharp Adrian Breen put Kieran Bermingham’s side on the path to a seventh outright victory.

Will O’Donoghue, for the third time, captained Na Piarsaigh to County glory.

Sign up for the Limerick Post weekly newsletter

And, returning after just a year out of the senior ranks, Monaleen, captain of Lorcan Lyons, won 2-16 to 0-16 against Bruff in the Intermediate Premier final at Fitzgerald Park in Kilmallock.

Rugby: MUNSTER remain under pressure in the United Rugby Championship after Saturday’s 14-15 loss to Ulster at Thomond Park.

It was Munster’s third inter-provincial defeat of the month and puts them in 14th position in the table, and already qualification for the 2023/24 Champions Cup promises to be a formidable challenge.

Only the top eight ranked teams at the end of the current URC campaign will automatically qualify for Cup activity the following season.

At the weekend, the visitors led 15-3 at halftime.

A few penalties from Jack Crowley closed the gap. Shortly after, the returning Simon Zebo created the home side’s only try by offloading to Stewart Moore who set up Shane Daly in the corner.

Crowley’s attempt on extras hit the post.

There was to be no chance of scoring late for Graham Rowntree’s side in these turbulent closing stages.

There are a few weeks left before the URC resumes.

Munster: Mike Haley; Shane Daly, Malakai Fekitoa, Rory Scannell, Patrick Campbell (Simon Zebo, 61); Jack Crowley, Paddy Patterson (Neil Cronin, 69); Dave Kilcoyne (Josh Wycherley, 60), Diarmuid Barron (Niall Scannell, 60-69), John Ryan (Roman Salanoa, 60); Edwin Edogbo, Eoin O’Connor (Cian Hurley, 50); Jack O’Donoghue (captain), John Hodnett, Alex Kendellen.

At the resumption of the AIL, no team from Limerick managed to win this weekend.

Soccer:Trailing 4-1 after the home leg of their SSE Airtricity Premier League promotion semi-final, Treaty United had little hope of reversing the inevitable in the weekend’s away game against Waterford FC but produced one of their finest displays to earn a 3-3 draw at RSC.

And, as Waterford progress 7-4 on aggregate, Tommy Barrett’s brave fans won plenty of applause.

Penalty goals from Marc Ludden and Lee Devitt gave Treaty a 3-1 interval advantage, but the game swung in favor of the home side when referee Paul Norton awarded them a controversial kick shortly after the second half.

Two of Treaty’s starting XI, captain Jack Lynch and Joe Collins, will not be there next season as the pair emigrate to Australia.

Waterford now face Galway United in the play-off final.

Treaty United: Jack Brady; Marc Ludden, Sean Guerins, Callum McNamara, Joe Collins (Stephen Christopher 56), Lee Devitt, Success Edogun, Martin Coughlan, Matt Keane, Mark Walsh, Jack Lynch. Subs used: Joe Coustrain, Enda Curran, Fionn Doherty, Willie Armshaw.


Comments are closed.